does Microsoft actually sponsor a sweepstakes based in London or is this a scam?

I’ve received a few emails regarding my winning or entered in a sweepstakes and that I need to reply for "award confirmation". Since most emails of this nature originate outside the U.S., I don’t automatically respond for fear of identity theft or viruses.


One Response to “does Microsoft actually sponsor a sweepstakes based in London or is this a scam?”

  1. JillPinky says:

    This is a SCAM. If you click on the below link this site confirms various email scams hitting the internet and provides an online form for the reporting of all scams and frauds – (with links for your own country.)
    http://www.consumerfraudreporting.org/lotteryscam_Yahoo2.php
    http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yoo2.phpahoo/...
    Unscrupulous thieves have sent you this email and they are trying to part you from your hard earned cash. They will often ask you to call a premium rate number and keep you holding on whilst you rack up a huge phone bill. They are then paid a large proportion of this phone bill. They may ask you to divulge personal information about yourself or ask for your bank or credit card details. Do not divulge any such information under any circumstances. It is surprising how many innocent victims have been duped by these types of emails. Please remember the thieves who send them are very clever and extremely convincing. I suggest you delete the email and send it into cyberspace where it belongs.
    Check out these sites for further information :
    http://www.scambusters.com
    http://www.hoax-slayer.com/

Leave a Reply


Powered by Yahoo! Answers