I applied for a job that I found on Craigslist and am now worried that it may have been a scam…read on.
I applied for a teacher’s assistant position that I saw on Craigslist that was supposedly at a local private school. The position was high paying and seemed too good to be true. I emailed my resume and cover letter to the email address in the listing and received an email back stating that I needed to fill out an online application through a website called lightspeedcareers.com. I went to that website and filled out the application, which asked some odd questions like who my cell phone carrier is and if I was interested in receiving information on insurance or credit counseling. It did not ask for my DOB or SS#, or any work related questions, although there was a space for me to post my resume. The only personal information that I gave was my name, address, and phone #.
I went back to Craigslist to look at the posting and it is no longer there. This is the first time that I have applied for a position on Craigslist and now I’m worried that it was an identity theft scam.
Has anyone had a situation like this occur, and if so was it a scam? Has anyone ever dealt with lightspeedcareers.com before?
FYI – The Craigslist posting # was 785519191. I have no idea how to find it again on Craigslist. Please help.
When I went to lightspeedcareers.com I was redirected to http://www.careernetworkjobs.com The site appears professional but I checked the domain info and it’s only been around for 3 months. Lightspeedcarrers.com has only been around for one month and they both have private registration. Considering the questions you said you were asked it sounds likely that it was a scam.
If you gave your cell number and cell phone carrier you may want to call your cell phone company and let them know so they can look out for anything weird.
If you gave them any other info such as credit card info or anything like that you’ll want to contact those companies as well.
Have you received any further contact from them?